Almost There!

20120801-193040.jpg

While two of the remaining songs give me headaches because one of them just would not be finished, no matter how often I redo it, the rest is pretty much done. I will revise those I already uploaded over the next two days, but hopefully there will only be minor details to fix. I already had to work on a moment of clarity, where towards the end an overly zealous de-esser triggered by one track castrated another that was in the same group, but it’s already fixed and uploaded again.

My patience with the other two tracks is wearing out, but one of them will be done by tomorrow night, maybe even tonight. If the other doesn’t work itself out by friday I will have to leave it out for now and hope to return to it when I’m back in two weeks, before I go to America on a well-earned vacation.

Beg your Pardon is my version of a happy song. Four Windows to the Wind is rather the opposite, and one of the few where I had the lyrics done before I started the music. I couldn’t sleep one night, got up, wrote that thing down and lay back in bed, gently drifting away on that image of a mattress floating out into the ocean. Sleep, Lotus was one of the two songs that I wrote ten days ago. Really proud of that last one, I am.

I had my first bands in the late nineties, and I am still used to the fact that music you record takes about two months minimum to reach anyone, because you have to send it to the pressing plant first, and pay a ridiculous amount of money for cds that nobody will ever buy. It is absolutely sick to sing something and publish it online for everyone to hear just one hour later and I absolutely enjoy that ease of communication the internet offers.

I have to go workout like crazy now, because these last two songs are killing me, and, frankly, I am a little sick of this tour de force. Thank god I didn’t do an album… But the next two EPs are already forming. Music for them is maybe 70 % done. Horay! On the other hand, two weeks ago I was sure THIS EP was done, too.

Thanks for your kind comments so far, let me know if there is anything wrong with any of the songs,

Love,

J

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

