Yesness!

20120711-180440.jpg

Progress!

I moved the microphone into the bedroom, and both guitar and voice sound a lot better in there. Most of the surfaces are wood and glass, and that seems to work well with the noises I produce. If you consider recording an acoustic instrument, try every room you have! My bedroom sounds more like what I want than all the acoustically engineered rooms in my friend’s studio, strange as that may seem.

I sang a song today, oh boy, into a Rode NT-1A, a entry-level large diaphragm microphone, and my voice sounded like shit. Like some punk trying to drown out the rest of the band by screaming. So I put a cheap T-Bone SCT-800 in front of my face and did it again, and suddenly it sounded like me. I’ll have to finish it when I come home from the office, but I am relieved, and looking forward to singing a lot the next days. I will even redo guitars for one song because this sounds better than the Neumann TLM 49 I used last sunday. The cheapest microphone, in my bedroom, who would have thought…

Despite the initial doubts I had, my approach of doing this alone and on a zero budget seems to work out. I read a lot about recording on the net, and I asked around a lot, and what it all comes down to is this: there is no dogma. Any mic, preamp or room can sound great depending on what you want. Knowing what you want is the hardest part of all this, and trying everything that is at your command takes time, but it saves you a lot of money.

I also discovered that I sing a lot better when I dance around like a spastic idiot while I do it. But if that‘s what it takes, count me in. I hope I’ll learn doing it without that, or the stage performances of this project will be legendary…

Yesterday a friend asked me to do the score and songs of an independent movie. That honours and thrills me beyond words. Horay!

Back to work, then singing, teaching, more singing. Funs!

Love,

J

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Yesness!

  1. Of course you sing better when you dance around! you’re letting go! Great photo and a nice home set-up

Leave a Reply

