Scio Non Scio

20120620-100557.jpg

The more you know, the less you know. The more I read up on recording, the more I find out that I don’t know shit about what I am doing here. Thank god I’m stubborn enough to hope that if I just trust my ears, and think a lot before I press the record button, it will not suck too hard.

In the metal bands I played in we used to record something and then we tried to make it sound good. That took months, and we were never really happy with it, because by the time we were finished everything was compressed and eq’ed to death. Nowadays I try to record something that sounds exactly the way I want, so I just have to take care of details afterwards. I just don’t know enough to ‘fix it in the mix’. What I am good at is listening if a mic or a room sound right, and so I have to take care of that more. To a professional engineer this is entry level bullshit, but for me this actually quite a revelation.

I try to approach recording like taking a picture of a painting. It can take months to finish said painting, but once that is done, all you have to chose is a good camera and a good perspective. I hope I am right about this.

I can’t wait until I can finally start mixing! Waaaah!

Love,

J

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

